The Quarantine Life – It Was A Funny Day

IMG_2857

our post-workout pic…

You know what brings some lightness to a pandemic? The ridiculous things kids say and do…that make you laugh and forget the insanity that’s happening in our world. Luckily it’s also Friday which helps too…so here we go.

Lot’s of funny moments to recap.

IMG_2844

the “no jumping on the bed” rule is strictly followed…also, yes, that is a chair in the bed…

How am I feeling today: I say this all the time…but I feel SO pregnant. My boys were super busy today and I only took about 20 minutes to lay down (I had a scheduled phone call with a friend and that was my only “down time”) and my body is feeling it. At 31 weeks pregnant, my body can’t keep up with the pace of my children. Gonna be tough to explain that to the kids over the next 9 weeks…

Today’s Win: This is not a brag moment…but I have been very consistently working out during this pandemic. And I need to strongly emphasize that I am using the term “workout” very…VERY…loosely here. Like…very very loose. Anyway – I have been doing 20 minute workouts each morning – it’s a prenatal workout so it’s very light (have I emphasized that enough yet? It’s not intense). I feel very proud of myself…especially since I haven’t been very committed to working out daily in….ever. I’ve never worked out this consistently since I played soccer or basketball in high school and we had practice every day. And as cheesy as this sounds, I am also motivated to show my kids that it is important to take care of yourself…even if it’s a simple workout. They love it too. Each day when I tell them to go play so I can do my workout, they say, “No thanks, we want to watch you.” And they do. They sit and watch me. Which is a little weird, right? But I’m proud to show them that I’m making an effort to stay healthy.

IMG_2853

Espen doing workups (that’s how he says workouts)

Funny Kid Moment: Continuing the workout story, today the boys decided to join me in my workout…but they felt the need to only wear underwear and t-shirts for the workout. Let the record show I was wearing capri pants and a tshirt. This was not a modeled behavior they were mimicking. I had about 5 minutes left of my workout and they were driving me crazy. They were pretending to be horses (no context…it was random), so I told them to go play in their pasture. So…they did. They both ran out the front door and ran around the yard. Remember though…they were wearing only tshirts and underwear. Also it was 35 degrees this morning. I quickly ran to the front door to gather my children…and I looked over to my neighbor’s house and OF COURSE he was outside. He gave me a look that communicated both “this is hilarious” as well as “you have lost all control, haven’t you?” The best part? They wouldn’t listen (shocker) and they ended up running to the backyard to jump on the trampoline for about 5 minutes. Good times.

Today’s Hero: My kids. They make me laugh so much. They also drive me crazy and they often forget that there’s no need to shout constantly. Our house is so so so so loud. But this quarantine is not without funny moments, lots of laughs, and also moments of pure chaos. But I love them and their entertainment.

60884434657__A3E6BA47-C6C4-4D0D-BA8C-D88C4C1B6624

talking with his littlest brother

IMG_2865

getting some sun

I have a few “runner up” kid stories from today that I’ll share…just because why not?! First, a Jimmy John’s driver drove by our house this afternoon. Soren and I have this random and quirky inside joke about Jimmy John’s I won’t get into now b/c it won’t make sense (also, yay, we are at the age with inside jokes!) and he said, “Oh mom! Look, someone ordered Jimmy John’s! I love their pizza!” I can honestly say Soren has never eaten there…and clearly doesn’t know they only make sandwiches. Second, if you’re one of those people that can’t remember what day of the week it is, you’re not alone. I ask my kids each day what day it is today. I even give them a hint, “Yesterday was Thursday…” and they can never get it. Honestly, they usually guess 3 other days of the week before getting it right. We sing the “days of the week” song probably 10 times a day…but they just aren’t connecting the song to actual application. Kindergarten should be good this fall for Soren. Lastly, I told Soren I ordered myself some new clothes and they will arrive next week. He turns to me and genuinely says, “Oh I am SO excited to see your cute new clothes!” So yes, he is 100% my child.

IMG_2874

bedtime snack…s’mores in the bonfire…dad’s choice…they were so hyper afterwards…

Til tomorrow…Saturday! Woo!

Leave a comment