The Quarantine Life – TGIF!

IMG_2432

at the car parade! 

Today almost…ALMOST…felt normal. We had a really really great day. This morning, about 10 friends and I created a car parade to drive by and surprise a friend that had a baby yesterday. We all made signs, taped them to our cars, and drove by cheering and waving. It was SO much fun! I think every single person felt happier. To physically see some of my friends in person lifted my mood 10x. And to see a 1 day old baby…not much better! If you have a chance to participate in a car parade for a friend, I highly encourage it. It was so easy and it benefits everyone involved!

IMG_2447

the lineup of cars

We also sat outside in the sunshine most of the afternoon (and by “sat” I mean we played and walked and biked and ran and played some more). Sunshine truly heals and the sun was a total gift today. Tomorrow’s forecast is 100% rain…so there’s that.

Let’s recap.

How am I feeling today: It was probably our best day yet (in quarantine life). Car parade, sunshine, visiting with friends as they walked by on the street, grilling burgers, and kids going to bed early (oh wait…that last one has never happened…ever….ever ever).

Today’s Win: Today was a win in general. You should also know there was a specific moment in the day where I texted a friend saying, “I just need a vacation from my kids.” and I also texted my husband, “I quit.” So it wasn’t a perfect day…but it was good. Give me sunshine and time talking with/seeing friends and I can generally overlook the hard moments.

Funny kid moment today: Lately Soren has been saying the word “kill” a little too often – which I know is part of his five-year-old brain learning how to use words but also, not my favorite thing to hear about multiple times throughout the day. He made a more negative comment and I asked him to stop using those words as they were not nice. He said he wouldn’t change, so I said that I hope God helps him understand what is OK and what is not OK to say (I was feeling very tired and passed that parental duty off to God…thanks in advance, God). Soren thought about that and said, “Mom, God doesn’t need to talk to me, he just washes away my sin.” So…I feel like 1) he’s getting some of the messages I’m teaching him but 2) he’s missing a lot of the messages I’m teaching him. I asked him to explain that more and he said, “Yeah, God just takes his hand and wipes it all clean.” So literally wiping away our sin. My five year old processing his salvation.

Today’s hero: Our amazing babysitter (& her family) sent us a text telling us we would receive a delivery on our doorstep sometime today. They delivered some “boredom busters” for our kids…which is a nice gift for the kids, but a really really nice gift for those kid’s mom…which is me. Thank you babysitter – we will use your services again as soon as we are allowed!

IMG_2448

very excited to sit in the front seat while we drove 100 feet at 2mph 

Other things worth mentioning from today: we have a new pet…a caterpillar named Mr. Fuzzy. Also, our neighbor, an older woman, invited Soren over to play in her garage (she has toys her grandkids usually play with) and he went…for 3 minutes. She came back with him and said, “Well…that didn’t last long.” Also Soren climbed our back gate to watch some yard work happening at our neighbor’s house at 8AM this morning. He has done this so many times and I no longer worry about it. Cue to 5 minutes later when he’s screaming for all the world to hear because he forgot how to get down and I had to rescue him…which was NOT an easy task when my baby belly is large and Soren is also pretty heavy. GOOD TIMES!

IMG_2443

lots of attitude

IMG_2429

Soren got stuck up there and scream cried til I saved him…which was fun at 28 weeks pregnant. 

Til tomorrow…

One thought on “The Quarantine Life – TGIF!

  1. So fun to read! We had a golf cart parade along the golf course Wednesday evening waving and smiling to everyone sitting on their patios. Also wonderful to be with friends! Love your adventures!! Ann

Leave a comment