The Quarantine Life – The Driveway

IMG_2948

from last night, post-haircuts 

Week six! Is it week six? I’ve lost track. Also, this is a record for how much I’ve written on this blog. I’ve written more on here the last 6 weeks than I have ever, combined! Thanks to those of you who read this – I really just started it to document our experience so that I can look back on this odd and unique time and remember what we did and how I felt about everything. That’s all assuming we get back to normal life…someday. Hoping it’s soon, but my gut tells me it’ll be awhile. And by awhile…I’m starting to wonder if Soren will get to start Kindergarten this fall…in a school, not at home. Time will tell!

I have a few good stories to share today so enjoy! Also, I made breakfast burritos for dinner tonight and I am so excited that 1) dinner is already done and 2) they are SO good and 3) I’ll likely have a hefty return of heartburn from eating them…oh well!

IMG_2958

we did a LOT of painting today…anyone need some fresh artwork? we ship internationally…

Let’s recap…

How am I feeling today: This week is off to a much better start than last week. Also it was supposed to rain this afternoon and it did…for about 5 minutes. For that I am thankful – no need for rain this week!

Today’s Win: This is more of a sweet story – but the boys often fall off bikes or simply fall and get hurt. They both are very VERY attached to specific stuffed animals and when they’re hurt, they need these animals to comfort them. I’m sitting there with open arms…but they’d prefer a stuffed animal for comfort over mom. It’s fine, I’m FINE. Anyway, anytime Soren gets hurt, Espen dashes around the house to find Soren’s puppies and brings them to his brother so he will feel better. It is so sweet and nothing we forced to happen…we are seeing natural empathy in little brother and it’s so sweet. I’ll just note here that Soren doesn’t return the favor…all in due time, hopefully.

Funny Kid Moment: The boys and I were playing in the driveway today when it started to look like a rainstorm was coming. I moved to stand inside the garage and Soren got right to work cleaning up the entire yard and driveway full of toys. He can be SO helpful and is such a little worker. He reminds me so much of Josiah. He loves to take charge and be so responsible. Espen preferred to just watch Soren do all of the work. Once everything was done, Espen shouts, “Oh no!” and runs into the driveway and grabs some dead leaves to bring into the garage. He was so worried those dead leaves would be left in the driveway and get wet in the rain. Kid has a lot to learn…

Today’s Hero: My driveway. What?! Yes. We have a caged fenced in yard…super helpful for little kids. But this Spring, we have ventured into the driveway for playtime. The boys are awesome at riding bikes so any afternoon that is decently warm, we are in the driveway riding bikes, shooting hoops, playing soccer or driving tractors around. I feel as if we are using every square foot of our property!

IMG_2953

haircut action shot

IMG_2959

my little worker

 

IMG_2962

mother of boys & keeper of puppies 

Til tomorrow…

The Quarantine Life – Heartburn, Uff…

IMG_2928

the three boys ❤

Good Sunday evening. I took a break from my daily posts yesterday because I got hit hard with a case of pregnancy heartburn. I have never had heartburn in my life, but the last 2-3 days have been a quick introduction to this new joyful pregnancy side benefit. It was pretty tough last night so I chose to attempt sleep at 9pm so I wouldn’t be aware of my discomfort. It mostly worked! I received many MANY ideas on how to combat heartburn – so if it spikes again, I’ll be sure to attempt some of those remedies. I thought pregnancy was supposed to be this joyful time of glowing and eating all the food? Not the case this round – nausea going strong at 31 weeks and now heartburn. It’s like my body doesn’t want me to eat…which I strongly rebel against.

60890715818__91938416-66AD-485D-AC21-0F26A4EB6AAE

making breakfast on Saturday morning! 

IMG_2876

Saturday breakfast – liege waffles (we make them at Christmas and freeze extras) and homemade whipped cream and bananas – one of my favorites! 

Anyway…

One of my biggest questions marks regarding the pandemic is if school will resume as normal this fall? Let’s be clear…I was never made to be a homeschool teacher. I am sure many of you are also nodding your heads in agreement…and I’m just curious if Soren will need to start kindergarten with Mrs. Lauren Larson as his teacher. We will all need to get on our knees and pray if that’s the case!

IMG_2921

our local handyman 

Ok let’s recap!

How am I feeling today: Thankful that nausea and his new BFF heartburn are mostly at bay today! And I love a good weekend day because my husband handles the kids a LOT. Also it was sunny today which, as I’ve said 100 times already, helps everything.

Today’s Win: You know how everyone is like, “So what new hobbies have you discovered during quarantine?” And all the moms laugh because we have even less time to ourselves than we did before. Yeah…me too. No hobbies over here. BUT…I think today I discovered I really enjoy cutting my boys’ hair! I’ve given them haircuts on and off over the past 2 years – but I realized today that I really like doing it. I should clarify – I am not excellent at cutting hair…I literally do it super fast and totally wing it. But it’s kind of fun! And their hair grows super fast so any “oops” moments will remedy in a couple weeks.

Funny Kid Moment: Last night, we were talking about the baby and how he is still nameless. Soren…out of nowhere…says, “Hey guys! I have a great name idea. Let’s name the baby Ovaries.” How does he even know what an ovary is?! I guarantee if I asked Soren what an ovary is, he’d have no clue. I’d actually bet on it. So who knows! But in case you’re wondering, no, we are not naming baby brother, Ovary/Ovaries. Back to brainstorming…

Today’s Hero: All of you wonderful friends out there that quickly provided me with ideas to relieve intense heartburn. I love having social media to be able to quickly get a wide variety of opinions or advice…it’s so helpful!

IMG_2919

wearing mommy’s headband

IMG_2945

I know SO MUCH more about farm equipment than I ever desired to know…

Til tomorrow…