The Quarantine Life – Shelter Time

IMG_2378

so happy (& Josiah making bacon outside)

It’s official, we are sheltering in place. Which is exactly what our family has been doing for the past week and a half. No new news here! I’m starting to come to terms with the fact that we will be living in this quarantine state until baby boy arrives…and then continuing to live like that for at least a month or two afterwards. I really hope I’m wrong about that…but I also need to set myself up for a pretty intense round of family time for the next 4-5 months (!!!!!).

Can we all say a collective prayer that they do not ban all guests from the labor & delivery room when this baby decides to come? Because God help the nurse that is alone with me during my labor. She will regret not allowing Josiah in the room. (I know this is for safety for all…but holy moly please don’t let that be a rule in our state in June).

A quick follow up: A few asked about the book study I mentioned yesterday. I am reading Jennie Allen’s Get Out of Your Head. It’s a new book that came out in January and so far, it’s delivering exactly what I need during this moment of pandemic life.

Let’s recap!

IMG_2406

Zoom call w/ my friends last night! 

How am I feeling today: I feel a bit rejuvenated because I was able to Zoom with my friends last night during our book study. I literally couldn’t fall asleep because my brain was so energized from talking with friends. It was in that moment I confirmed I am an extrovert and need people in my life…even if that means Zoom style. On the flip side, I am grieving some “lasts” as nearly all of our school year activities have cancelled for the remainder of the year. Since Soren starts kindergarten this fall, I didn’t get to savor those “lasts” with him. I know that’s small on the grand scale of what’s happening in the world – but I still feel sad.

Today’s Win: I showered. My husband showered. My kids took a bath. We are four clean people!! That is so dumb but honestly – it helps to feel clean! 

Funny kid moment today: Soren has this way of making me laugh uncontrollably. And he knows it! This most often happens at dinner…and it usually involves Soren doing something ridiculous. Tonight? It was him running and jumping onto his dinner chair and flailing around and nearly falling off. It was really not that funny (especially typed out like this) and Josiah began to scold Soren on how close he was to hurting himself…but Soren only had eyes for his mother…who was silent laughing and had tears rolling down her cheeks. And then he keeps doing it or laughs hysterically…which only makes it worse for all of us. I don’t know what it is…but he will do just about anything to make me laugh…and I feel so dang special when he does that. I am controlled by a 5 year old! I’ll admit it! Also, when I’ve been pregnant in the past, I have had fits of laughter that I couldn’t control – probably the best “symptom” of pregnancy there ever was!

Today’s hero: I’m not sure who to thank for this – but I ordered baby boy a special outfit and it arrived today and I am SO excited! It’s so cute, it’s so soft, and it’s so new (unlike everything else he’ll wear). Now to convince Espen to give up his crib so baby has somewhere to sleep…and we need to buy newborn diapers…and a few other things.

IMG_2409

baby boy…you’re going to be snuggled up in this soon!

Til tomorrow…and maybe a baby bump pic coming soon?

Leave a comment